Birdy Blog

Man is not a bird

  • Subscribe

  • Categories

  • Archives

Where it all started

Posted by Alix on 5 January 2008

First post of 2008! To start the year here are the two prints that started off this bird thing. I say ‘started off’, but it is more that these prints made me sit up and realise that the oddly high occurence of bird ephemera in my life must be connected to some kind of hitherto unrecognised appreciation that perhaps I should act on. I haven’t worded that very well, but I hope you get my drift.

I found these prints at a market stall in Hackney about 2 years ago, at the time I only knew I liked them, and had to sift through the huge pile of them the seller had, to choose two. He was selling them for a fiver apiece, so despite wanting the whole booksworth of prints I had to limit myself. I felt they were rather overpriced at the time, but see now that this was a decent rate. I wish I’d known; I’d have bought the whole lot. I also wish I’d picked the magpie rather than the lark, but it’s done now. They are by the Rev. Francis Orpen Morris (more on him here), I believe from his History of British Birds, published at some point in the second half of the 19th century. I’m reasonably fussy about my nature prints – I don’t like too much background detail, and I like the subject to look as natural as possible. I like a nice, modest image. Orpen Morris, I feel, delivers on these points.

The Missel Thrush

birdy-013.jpg
The White-Winged Lark
birdy-012.jpg
One Response to “Where it all started”

  1. laughingowl said

    I’d just like to point out that I resized these so they’d bloody fit, and I’ve only just noticed that they don’t fit the page at all. If you click on them you get the full image.

Leave a Reply

 
